Home > Izzy Neis Links > Fightin Monsters

Fightin Monsters

No, not another rant.  Taking a deep breath after that Muppet/Bachelorette tirade I just finished off.  It’s never good to shake a finger at a Big Dog in the industry; however, to quote Leslie Knope (Parks & Recreation on NBC): “If I seem too passionate, it’s because I care. If I come on strong, it’s because I feel strongly. And if I push too hard, it’s because things aren’t moving fast enough.” lol.

Anyway, on to brighter rambles: I thought I’d give ya’ll the heads up (and make it known in blog-form) that I recently joined the team at FightMyMonster.com, and I’m getting back to my hands-on community-roots.  I had missed the gaming side of the industry.  I love this demographic (tween boys) & general concept/direction (monsters & strategy).  As always, there’s a fair share of work to do (again, tween boys are never dull in community/behavior management), but I’m jazzed about it & ready for it (<cracks knuckles>), and the team is awesome (high five to Dylan & Dominic, et all).

With all the due respect in the world for previous employers and contractors, this is the first time I’ve walked into a company that’s already crossed the 1 million user mark BEFORE my arrival on less than a year lifespan & a skeleton crew.  And it turns a profit? What?  Yes.  I’m very impressed with the folks here, and psyched to see what mischief we can get up to in the name of awesome entertainment.

In my tenure, I’ve worked with Virtual Worlds, interactive websites for cartoons/books, MMOs for kids AND adults, and social networks for kids… and now I’ve got interactive strategy game too.  It’s a simple site concept, but boys just EAT it up.  I’ve never seen anything like it.

I’m excited to see what this company brings – both in entertainment shenanigans and life/career lessons.  😀

OH – and by joining this team, I also made a career goal: I was mentioned in a post by Kidscreen (squeeeeee!):

http://kidscreen.com/2012/04/24/fight-my-monster-hires-user-engagement-vp/

Other things for you to check out:

http://corp.fightmymonster.com/

http://twitter.com/fightmymonster 

Categories: Izzy Neis Links
  1. May 22, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    I think you forgot to mention how lucky we feel to have you as well!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment