Where MY Wild Things Are…

Still looking forward to the Spike Jonze/Dave Eggers Where The Wild Things Are adaptation, and all the screenshots still look amazing, but wow, this first trailer is pretty em effing epic. Hopefully it’s just an extra-bombastic trailer, because I have no idea how a three-page book could be adapted into a film that makes Braveheart and Gladiator look like single-camera student films of someone whispering in the dark, but I’ll again give them the benefit of the doubt and retain my anticipation:

Best Week Ever

Okay.

Where the Wild Things Are trailer is winging its way across the web.  I saw it this morning.  Tweeted it.  Tweeted it again.  And now – my 7th time watching the trailer today, and I’m nigh on tears.

The fearless-fearful heart of youth still hiding in the echoes of my soul can help but beat jungle drums.  Scary, scary, wonderfully-mysterious jungle drums.  Jumanji jungle drums.

I am so very eagerly looking forward to the adaption of this book.  I have never, ever been a supporter of taking non-fairy-tale picture books to film (even when my youthful hero, Mike Myers, was promised the lead in Cat in the Hat did I cry FIE! And rightfully so).  Shrek managed to squeak out a brill early edition (only to beat a dead horse while jumping the Shark in following sequels).

Where The Wilds Things Are isn’t just some childhood classic. Nay.  It’s that little piece of us that snickers mischeviously when naughty, and roars defiantly when backed into a corner.  It appeals that that piece of us that still yearns to run in an open field and ignore mom’s call for dinner, catch lightning bugs, build forts, and hide from ghosts in the basement.  It isn’t just words on intricately designed pages – it’s a soul story – something that needs no explaination.

I have two amazing godsons.  Jack is now 8, and Ryan is 1.5.  They are my muses.  When I think of them, I think of two little boys with the world before them – all the fears, foes, adventures, and heroes.  They are my Wild Things.  When they were both born, my first gift to them both was the Maurice Sendak book, and a Max doll.

To say I’m excited for this movie is an understatement… and from the excitement & buzz I have seen around the net surrounding this project?  I think there’s a legion of people in agreement.

If Spike Jonze pulls this movie off, as he seems to do in the Trailer?  I will build the man a shrine, lol.  Because… this is epic.

I can’t get wordpress to post that darn trailer (grumbles… I need to host my own site, gah).  So please, if you haven’t seen it yet and you loved the book as a child – go watch the trailor, and dare yourself not to feel the call of the jungle drums awaken your inner-child.  Then take a few minutes to bask in possibility and imagination… its rare we get to do that these days.

In the meantime, here are some books I suggest you read:

Muddle Earth (Stewart, Riddell), The Edge Chronicles (Stewart, Riddell), Foundling and Lamplighter (DM Cornish, Monster Blood Tattoo series), Abarat Series (Clive Barker), Alice in Wonderland and Alice Beyond The Looking Glass (Lewis Carrol), Peter Pan (JM Barrie), Beatrix Potter Series, Stardust (Neil Gaiman), Ella Enchanted (Gail Carson Levine), Enna Burning and The Goose Girl and River Secrets (Shannon Hale), The BFG and Matilda and The Twits (Roald Dahl), The Indian in the Cupboard series and The Fairy Rebel (Lynn Reid Banks), Wee Free Men (Terry Pratchett), The Last Dragon (Silvana de Mari), Saint George and the Dragon (Margaret Hodges), and The Mysteries of Harris Burdick.  These books, with Where The Wild Things Are, made me.  Oh yes, and Kaimira Code (Chris Rettstatt).

Blogged with the Flock Browser
  1. March 26, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Beautiful post, Izzy. And I’m feeling it too. It was my favorite book as a small boy, and it’s the book I read most often to my twins from the beginning. If they mess this one up, I’m going to need to see some rioting.

  2. April 11, 2009 at 6:35 am

    I’m amazed this trailer does justice to the mischief makers of Sendak…I usually dread the notion of “adaptations of the imagination” but this one clearly DOES have promise. Wild! Thanks for the heads up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

