Home > entertainment, kid pop culture, Nickelodeon, pop culture, TV, tween, Youth > Some Avatar The Last Airbender News

Some Avatar The Last Airbender News

Dav Patel, star of Slumdog Millionaire, will play Zuko in writer/director M. Night Shyamalan‘s live-action feature film The Last Airbender, per Variety.  The Paramount and Nickelodeon Movies picture is based on Nickelodeon‘s animated series Avatar: The Last Airbender.  Patel takes on the role of the Fire Nation’s evil Zuko, which was originally to be played by Jesse McCartney until schedule conflicts arose.  The Last Airbender is slated for a July 2, 2010 release.

Cynopsis Kids

I haven’t spoken about it recently… but my excitement hasn’t lessened.  How pathetic is it that I’m slightly disappointed Jessie McCartney isn’t going to be Zuko?  I have a special place for Jessie McCartney (bear with me here).  He played Dixie’s son JR on All My Children as a kid for several years, and I always thought he made such a JR (now JR is played slightly crazed/manipulative by an older guy who used to play Lucky on General Hospital after the good actor Lucky left…. I know this, and I don’t even WATCH General Hospital). 

And I just geeked my self out once again.  I grew up with All My Children – my second sentence was “Momma, Pamma not home” as in Palmer Cortland.  My mom would watch soaps while folding laundry or making our lunches, etc.  Plus, we didn’t have cable until I was 17, so I was always hungry for things to watch on TV – PBS often stopped airing kids TV by 11 am (started back up again about 2 pm). 

Anyway… Props to Dav Patel.  Those are some big shoes to fill (for Avatar fans, this could equal the search for Edward Cullin, at least in my book.  I’m a Zuko fan over an Aang fan).

Blogged with the Flock Browser
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

