Short Ramble: Muppets Rule

In case you managed to stay away from the computer on your 4th of July weekend you might have missed Sam the Eagle present an Internet-exclusive musical salute to America featuring his fellow Muppets. Between 1976 and 1981, long before Shrek and fancy animation came along, Jim Henson and his team produced The Muppet Show on television and it truly was kids entertainment that grown-ups could enjoy too. The great content and funny characters are timeless (the clip embedded above has had over a quarter million views since it was posted two weeks ago). Still, reruns of The Muppet Show haven’t been shown on air since 2001. In 2005 the Muppets launched the award-winning webisodes Statler and Waldorf: From the Balcony. According to a Wikipedia entry, there is talk of another revival of The Muppets, with FOX being the initial serious contender. We’ll see how much truth there is to those discussions soon (the clip above was posted by “Sam the Eagle” and not much more information about who created it was available because, as Sam states: “… as a citizen of this great nation, I am not required to give any further information to any weirdoes who may be reading this.” Wouldn’t it would be cool to see The Muppets revived, even if it was just on the Internet? They’ve been gone for far too long!

Buzz Watch: The Muppets Are Set For A (New Media) Come-Back? | Digital Media Wire

About two weeks ago I ran into someone who works for Henson and she was telling me bits and pieces of all the exciting new things going on with the Muppets – and she did indeed talk about a revival of muppitude… AND I WAS, IS, AND ALWAYS WILL BE PSYCHED about Muppets in all facets of entertainment (well, except for VW/MMO, which I’ve expressed concern about time and time again – however, IF there was an MMO – wink, wink, nudge, nudge – from the sounds of things, they have a unique vision & approach… 🙂 )

I loved this video when I saw it yesterday (I somehow stumbled on it, I can’t remember how).  I’m telling you – the world needs more Waldorf & Statler.  They are the ultimate contrarians (contrary – ans, people who strive to be contrary).  My best friend from college and I were the W&S of our sorority house (yes, I was a sorority girl, but when you’re at a small liberal arts college, sororities are much more like Archie Comics meets the Muppets – so I was at home there in that insanity).

So, from what I was told – the next MUPPET MOVIE will be a call back to “Old School” Henson – aka, the muppets coming together to achieve success (The Muppet Movie and Muppets Take Manhattan and one could even argue Follow That Bird and Labyrinth as similar story styles).  Iger, so far, has made some brazilliant (yes, I know I spelled that wrong, lol) decisions with the future of Disney, and I’m hoping he can continue to work his magic with the resuscitation of Kermit & crew.

Personally, I am NOT a fan of CGI in movies.  Downfall of Star Wars (but that’s my humble opinion that many disagree with).  MUPPETS and other such puppetry = where it’s at.  Somehow Hellboy 2 actually manages to make me think that it’s a beautiful blend of both artistic styles, for which I am intrigued? 

Anyway – hope you enjoy that video of Sam Eagle as much as I did.  Gotta love the Muppets.

Happy Tuesday, folks.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

