Sesame Street and Hearts of Gold

It’s one of the longest-running shows in television history, and one of the best-loved — so perhaps it’s not surprising that there are more than 20,000 Sesame Street videos on YouTube alone. Babble combed through countless fan sites and video pages — not to mention our collective memories — to bring you the 50 most memorable moments in Sesame Street history. Watch them all here, then leave your own favorites in feedback. — Gwynne Watkins

Top 50 ‘Sesame Street’ Moments. From The Letter L to the Two Headed Monster: Fall. On Babble.com.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.  Check that list – it is the best ever.  I just watched “Big Bird Explains Mr. Hooper’s Death”– #7 on the list, and have tears running down my face. 

Watching Joey (small girl) & Kermit sing the alphabet (with her sticking in “cookie monster” ever few letters) makes me light up with joy – remembering how BRILLIANT and meaningful a tv series can be to a girl.

I implore you to take a look at these.  Kidscreen sent this link around, so if you don’t get that newsletter, than check out the link above. 

This past weekend I went camping with strangers (always a good idea, lol), and we started talking about kids TV (probably my doing since I can’t ever stop talking shop).  Who remembers the BIG kid drama in the early 80’s?????

Come on… you simply MUST know what I’m talking about. 

Hint: Big Bird & his imaginary friend – that NO ONE believed in except BB.  Remember now?  It was a several episode arch (or at least in my memory it was) where Maria discovered Big Bird was telling the truth about Snuffy… and then EVERYONE got to meet him?  That was my first day time soap (or at least MY personal, apparently I was a huge “All My Children” fan because of my mother who watched it while folding laundry- my 2nd sentence was “Pa-ma not home.”  As in Palmer Cortland was not currently in the living room set of his soap opera home during the scene airing on TV.  Nice.)

Anyway – I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it hundreds more times… Henson was a genius, and I am a child of the Henson Era of Awesomeness.  Fozzie Bear is on my desk, I regularly sing (to the chagrin of my coworkers) the 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 song (and if you don’t have the tune going through your head with visions of pin ball madness 70’s style, then bless you).  I spent my high school years collecting Ernie & Cookie Monster paraphernalia and listening to the Sesame Street “Best of” soundtrack (“If Moon Was Cookie Me Think Me Would Be…”), college I forced my sorority lil sis to watch the “Best of” VHS (“batty batty batty batty batty one two three COUNT, Dance with me doing the batty bat”).   And I hate Elmo (LONG LIVE THE TELLY MONSTER & GROVER who seemed to lose their importance when that red menace showed up).  I am a HENSON CHILD, and I will live long and prosper from it.

Henson had a large part of who I am – and THAT is what children’s entertainment can do for individuals.  I am just one speck in an ocean of the Henson ripple.  Thinking about the affect he & his work had on children globally (and still beyond his death) makes you truly understand a bit of respect and love that building these programs deserve.  For as much as we try to make kids entertainment a “business” and even push it into the cold territory of “work”… it has so much to offer and so much empowerment and resonance. 

Now what about you?  How did “The Henson” strike gold in your heart?  Feel free to bring up David Bowie if you wish 😉

Blogged with the Flock Browser
  1. May 6, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Loved Henson magic

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

