UB Funkeys Gets Down w Ads

Welcome to the future of marketing to youth, ya’ll. Not that this is revolutionary or anything, thanks Stardoll. But this is a new level I’ve not seen done for youth, and it’s not bad 😉 :

speed-racer-racer-x-in-ub-funkey.jpg

Looks like Speed Racer is sponsoring a RACE in UB Funkeyland.

ads-in-ub-funkey.jpg

With some mini sponsoring by Mattel and Tyco…? That is, unless I’m a toy idiot (update: yes, it appears I am, so disregard my microbrand-advertising) and didn’t catch on to the connection between the three (third being Radical, who produces UB Funkeys).

So far this is my favorite type of ads in VW. It’s not nearly as “in your face” or ad insulting. But that’s my humble opinion, and I’ve talked before about how I ride the line between pro and questionable. Plus kids get something new out of it– a racing game and introduction to a fun property they can interact with.

Since this is a PURCHASED product, and not as scalable-costly as say a thriving live-moderated community, I’ll be interested to see how parents react, if at all, to the invasion of product endorsement within purchased toys for home (ahem, Webkinz vs Alvin debacle of ’07). I guess its’ nothing too new– Grand Theft Auto started this stuff years ago.

Anyway, it was a fun spot today during my game play.

  1. george nelson
    March 31, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    radica manufactures but mattel distributes funkeys, and they also distribute tyco. so this isn’t really anything.

  2. April 1, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Rad. Thanks, George! I’ll admit, I love toys and own toys, but don’t know much about them besides their ties to virtual worlds. Cheers.

  3. January 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    i am considered to old for funkey the mindless wandering around the overpriced ad on the £20 funkey starter but the games are good all they could do to mprove was either let all funkeys use the cellphone or make it like a 3d multiplayer world where you can chat n that

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

