The Thing about Nickelodeon

H20 will splash onto Nickelodeon with the premiere of an hour-long movie on Friday, March 14 at 8p. The series will then take up its regular Sunday 7:30p time slot, in the TEENick block, from March 16. H20 is a live action series about three Australian teen girls who are regular teens by land and mermaids with magic powers by sea, where they can manipulate the state of water (freeze, boil). Produced by Jonathan M. Shiff productions, H20 is shot on location in Australia and first premiered on Nickelodeon UK in April 2007.

Cynthia Turner’s Cynopsis – Cyn Kids 3/5/08

Before I start a ramble about this new development, I’ll lead off with pointing to Ty’s Toy Box. Yesterday this lovely post popped up on my RSS feed:

In the fast-paced world of tween entertainment, it’s not enough to be good. You have to be the best.As any parent of a tween can tell you, tweens have the attention spans of fruit flies. If you don’t have a hit on your hands, how far away could you possibly be from a total flop? Those fickle kids are determining your fate, after all.  So it’s no surprise to hear that the industry is tracking the Disney Channel and Nickelodeon like hawks…
Ty’s Toy Box

Click the link above to read on. Mainly it refers to Nickelodeon’s king-o-the-hill battle with Disney, and how the Viacom baby was managing to stay on top for the last few years. I think it’s fair to say that I’m a nickoholic. Growing up– straight up Disney (although we didn’t have the Disney channel, you better believe I didn’t miss Ducktales, Rescue Rangers, Tale Spin, DARK WING DUCK, etc on Fox after school… or the yearly trips to D-land, or my room covered in Aladdin, Cinderella, and Beauty & the Beast paraphernalia). But once I got cable? It was all about Salute Your Shorts, and Aah! Real Monsters, and Rugrats, you get the drift. I mean… ask my college roommates– I actually made a rope out of pixie sticks so I could somehow weasel my way onto Figure It Out w/ Summer Sanders.

Nickelodeon has always managed to rope in the kid that doesn’t mind getting dirty while playing outside all day. It’s gender neutral, goofy, and more about kids ruling the world. Disney always seemed to his home with the strong-handed families, namely the girl contingent, and who liked pink, princesses, and dreaming realistic-fantasy.

In the last year I felt my admiration for Nick slipping. Their online presence is average (nick main page is much better than any other attempt at a virtual experience– Nicktropolis has all the potential and very little proper execution), their news hasn’t been great (ahem, Jamie Lynn), and everything feels like a rerun (even iCarly, and that’s brand new– they just play the same episodes over and over). Where’s the Nickelodeon ZING-BOP? They’ve been getting KICKED AROUND by High School Music (HSM seems to be a world-renowned acronym) and Hannah Montana (okay, Miley is bringing me over to the HM side. Sorry, Naked Brothers Band).

LOW AND BEHOLD, what is this? Instead of fighting back Nick-style with a new goofy show that brings in both genders… they specifically target a purely-girl-esque show. H20 sounds like something slated for Disney, am I right? Like some sort of Wizards of Waverly Place meets Little Mermaid (both Disney products, mind you) Wasn’t there an Emma Roberts movie out two years ago that was kinda like this called Aquamarine (Fox produced)?

Needless to say, I’m going to be watching it. With all the Disney I’ve been watching lately, I’ve started to tip my scale to the girlier side. BOOO HISS. I hate to have admitted that. Ga-ross. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the success of this show with Nick, and hoping that Nick also WAKES UP from their nappy-poo and starts the energy again. NO more hibernation! Bring on the gender-neutral goof! Perhaps it’s time for some new shows that have the same hilarity, originality, and pizazz as Josh & Drake, All That, Salute Your Shorts, Ned’s Declassified, etc.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , , , ,

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

