Girls & Secrets

New York, NY February 22, 2008- On Tuesday, February 19, 2008, www.allykatzz.com launched a new section: “I’VE GOT A SECRET.” It’s where GIRLS AGES 10-15 ANONYMOUSLY POST THEIR SECRETS. In less than 48 hours over 425 SECRETS were posted.

Invitation to girls: “Got secrets you want to share but are afraid to even tell your best friend for fear of what she’ll think? Want to read secrets from other girls so you can see that you aren’t the only one with secrets? This is the place to anonymously tell YOUR secrets.”

Girl secrets started pouring in…confessions, fears, desires, needs, disloyalties, heartbreaks and embarrassing moments. Some bring tears to our eyes, some make us smile… and all let us know what’s really going on in the hearts and heads of tween and teen girls.

Like these SECRETS:

“i murdered my cat on accident…because i accidently slammed my cats head into my car door…. and i had to throw my dead cat in this ditch behind my neighbors house.. and i had to lie to my mom and told her he ran away”

“i secretly want my parents to get a divorce…..”

“I know it’s SUPER HORRIBLE, but I’m attracted when a boy talks about his “private parts” I feel all sick inside. I’m discusted at myself. “

“I am anorexic. I hate eating in public, and I am OBSESSED with the Nutrition Facts or whatever on the back of all the boxes of food. I think I’m fat, because I am almost 12, 5 feet 4 inches tall, and I weigh a whopping 96 pounds!!!!! “

The link to view ALL SECRETS: http://www.allykatzz.com/page/blogs/secrets/

 

Awesome. Really! I love Post Secret, so this is a great idea. Why? Because little girls/tween girls feel SO ALONE at times. They feel like no one could feel as they do– or go through what they have gone through– or hide what they need to hide… And this is a great anonymous way for girls to see their peers’ fears and feel a little less alone.

 

I scanned through the site, and felt my own personal time warp. Some of the things the girls said were similar to issues I worried about as a girl.

 

Some of them made me smile triumphantly. Why? Because there are a few comments in there you can just FEEL were made up– and you know what? Good. Obviously that child feels they need to create their own anonymous myth, just to feel a little cheeky, or powerful, or heroic, or their own legend. Every kid (especially girls) does it– makes some tiny lie to feel invisible or important. It’s a moment of thrill, mischievousness, and independence.

 

I dig it. Brava, AllyKatzz!

  1. February 22, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    I agree.

    One of my friends has some things she doesn’t like to share with us.

    It makes her feel uncomfortable or something.
    😦

  2. February 23, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Hey, Izzy, I just left a comment on YPulse about this, and wondered if you’d posted your take on it…

    I used the example of certain kids ‘making up’ stuff to add (melo)drama in their ordinary worlds, so it cracks me up that you’ve echoed that here…(do we work with tweens or WHAT?!)

    I’m still concerned about fabrication vs. reality of the ‘self-harm’ elements (cutting, etc.) as that’s dicey terrain. How do you think AllyKatzz will handle this in moderation mode? Is there a ‘safe way’ to discern fact from fiction there?

    As a mom of a tween in and out of middle-schools often, I always have to ‘flatline’ the ’emo antics’ of peer group clusters that read/act/dress a certain way sans judgment, because like a large sweet dog w/a hesitant mailman, kids can SMELL fear and turn to snarl and gnash in a heartbeat just to ‘test it out.’

    If my own tween ever caught wind of the fact that self-harm mentions (or ana/mia site how-tos) scare the socks offa me, it ‘can and could’ be used against me in a negative play for attention’ in ‘testing 1-2-3-power-tugs…

    As a colleague of mine warns (who has the ultimate drama queen) ‘always keep your best poker-face on and whatever you do, do NOT over-react’ —um, yeah.

  3. colleen
    February 24, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Every lonely, embarrassed tween girl will find some balm here. Reassurance to the least reassurable. It’s kind of like reading Judy Bloom. Unfortunately, without the wise and funny intercession of Judy herself. I suspect though, that on balance more good will come out of it than bad.

  4. February 24, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Wow! I just read through pages of those secrets. Talk about virtual voyeurism. You’re right, it’s like a time warp. Some of the secrets are serious enough to be a real wake up call for parents.

  5. March 1, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    As long as they can’t trace back to the writer I guess anonymous is alright. They have the feelings it is better to let them out. Especially writing. They claim it cleanses, and some of these kids seem to have no one to share their deepest thoughts or fears with.

    Dorothy from grammology
    remember to call gram
    http://www.grammology.com

  6. Boyd
    April 7, 2008 at 10:57 am

    A GirlZecret site dedicated to this topic as well + social networking, please check 😉

    http://www.girlzecret.net

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

