Updated: Conference Update

Sup.

So, it turns out I’m heading to Austin, Texas next month (woot) for SXSW. Very, very excited. The schedule of events/speakers rocks, and I’m not quite sure how I’m going to see everything I wish to– so much, so little time. If only Hermione’s time-turner necklace was real. If you’re going to be there, LET ME KNOW. I know there are a bunch of people who stop by my blog from time to time, and I’d love to meet you face to face. Please ping me if you’re around. I’ll also mot likely twitter the whole thing too, and perhaps some live blogging.

Also, tomorrow I’ll be in San Fransisco for a short bit of time for (drum roll) THE PRESS EVENT FOR FUSION FALL!!!! I’m incredibly honored to score an invite from Cartoon Network (especially Richard Weil). No doubt you’ll hear ALL about it tomorrow evening. If you’re around GDC and are interested in grabbing a coffee in the morning or afternoon, let me know (leave a message in the comments, it won’t be approved live, so no worries).

Boooooo!  I didn’t make it to San Fransisco, despite my valiant efforts.  American Airlines and the air controller at San Fransisco Airport joined forces, and denied me completely.  After one canceled flight, and two uber-delayed flights, I missed both of today’s Fusion Fall sessions, so I said a very stern “thank you but no thank you” to the INCREDIBLY unpleasant flight stewardess at the gate, and then made my way back to the office CRUSHED.

This April I’m gearing up for Virtual World 08 conference in NYC, although I might not make it due to crunch time here at 6DG. Plus, I was positioned to speak on a few panels for the youth section of the conference– but the ‘powers that be’ have picked a certain angle to go for with the virtual worlds (less about the future & possibility, and more about 2007 big guns– who we have heard from time and time again)– pity party, table for one (lol). I might just wait until they’re here in Los Angeles this fall for VW’08 expo.

I hope to see ya’ll somewhere around. 🙂

Also possibilities: Community Next (Los Angeles), ‘Children and virtual worlds’ Conference (London)

p.s. Personal Note: As I’ve mentioned before…. I’M CUTTING OFF MY LOCKS-OF-LOVIN’ HAIR. I’m nervous. I’m only depressed I couldn’t grow it longer. I just don’t know how some people do it. Kudos to those wookies out there!

  1. February 22, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Hey Izzy!

    I’ll be at SXSW and VW NY. I hope we can meet.

    Cheers!

  2. February 22, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    We missed you at the FusionFall press event, Izzy. But I might be at SXSW and if so, I’ll bring the game with me to give you a screening. How’s that?

    Best,

    Rich

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

