Kid Christmas Present Woe

Sixty percent of kids 8-17 expect to 1) get a game they didn’t want or a game for a console they don’t have, or 2) not get any or all of the games they asked for, according to a study by Weekly Reader Research cited by USATODAY. It also found that 80% of kids said they’d ask for a videogame this holiday season, and 59% for a game console. Their five favorites are Guitar Hero, Mario Party DS, Super Mario Galaxy, My Sims and Halo 3. Key advice for getting the right games, USATODAY says: know what console the child has and know the child’s game picks. I would add: Know the games’ ratings! Go to ESRB.org to see if a child’s pick is age- and maturity-level appropriate. Meanwhile, as the New York Daily News reviews the three top consoles: Nintendo Wii, Xbox 360, and Playstation 3, the Los Angeles Times reports that Microsoft is pushing to broaden the market for Xbox Live and the online gaming it enables. See also “Support for young videogamers,” zooming in on what online gaming can be like for tweens and teens.

NetFamilyNews

For some reason I get the giggles whenever I read that first bolded sentence.  It seems sooooo dead on.  I can almost FEEL the disappointed/grateful/confused woe of a child who opens a video game they didn’t want or can’t play (no console).  And bless the parent for trying to get the right thing and aiming wrong.  I feel like this is a kid woe of all generations (just not necessarily for video games).

I asked for a game console for xmas.  What’d you ask for?

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , ,

  1. December 1, 2007 at 1:22 am

    I asked Santa for a Macbook! We have a PS3 … luckily it will play PS2 games because there are limited kid-friendly games for PS3. We’ve thought about the Wii, but how many consoles can you have? My entertainment center is overflowing with cables, mics, controllers and game boxes. Somebody should make a clever organizer. That would be on the top of my list.

    My 10-year-old daughter wants My Sims for the DS
    My 4-year-old son will probably get a VSmile game

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

