Kid Empowerment Through Nick News

A Global Warning From The Kids of the World, a new special presented by Nick News with Linda Ellerbee, is scheduled to bow Sunday, December 9 at 9p on Nickelodeon. With the aim of reaching adults through kids and their personal experience and environments, the show features kids in different parts of the world explaining what they think about the issues and threats surrounding the change in the world’s climate, including teens who live near Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, a boy in the Netherlands, and two Native-American teens from Shishmaref, Alaska, a village near the Artic Circle that is slipping into the sea rapidly, its shoreline has diminished by 10+ feet annually for the six or so years due to erosion and impinging elements as a result of global warming.

Cynthia Turner’s Cynopsis – Cyn Kids 11/28/07

Okay– I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again… I adore Nickelodeon. Here is what I like about the idea of this edition of Nick News with Linda Ellerbee:

KIDS REACHING OUT TO ADULTS TO SPEAK ABOUT ISSUES FROM THEIR OWN PERSPECTIVE.

Awesome. Brilliant. Now… can someone please PLEASE tell Linda Ellerbee/Nickelodeon to have an edition about Kids REACHING OUT TO ADULTS, SPEAKING ABOUT ONLINE ISSUES: Safety, environments, experiences, tips for parents from kids, relationship advice between offline parent and online child, etc????

If kids are the ones “getting” the internet & web faster than adults, why not let kids reach out and walk the mommas and the poppas through? It can be like Parent Night at school. The majority of kids get all excited about carting their parents through the hallways… “Look mom, this is where I…” or “Dad, check this out. I drew this picture” and “Mom, see at least my desk is clean, right?” Instead, this time it can be… “Look mom, this is where I earn all my tokens to feed my pet!” or “Look dad, this is the scion I built, want me to disassemble yours?” or “I made this picture and now it’s up on deviant art!” and better yet “This is what I do when I don’t know a person who wants to be my friend.” << Open the lines of communication!

Also, I’d like to see kids speaking out about their virtual experiences– the good, the bad, the awesome, the scary, the confusing, etc. But more than anything– speaking to adults about it.

Anastasia over at YPulse had a great post yesterday (which I rambled nearly a novel-worth of stuff for) regarding the relationship between tween/kid/twid users and their product-based virtual worlds (webkinz, zibbies, bratz, etc).

I think it would be GREAT for kids to talk about their web-wandering experiences and how they FEEL about the opportunities, etc, online.

So, there ya go Linda Ellerbee. I send this tip with admiration and hope that someone at Nick gets a brilliant clue and tackles the next “Nick News” with some youth online issues.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. john
    December 5, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    they did that show on nick news already.

  2. December 5, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Hmmm. Really? I must have missed it. Nick.com & Linda Ellerbee’s information about previous episodes kinda sucks. IMDB’s last Nick News entry was from 2000. Yikes.

    As for the shows, I’m pretty great about watching those… Sad I missed that one.

    That just goes to show they need to play it a few times over. Do the ‘typical’ viacom thing and engage in the power of reruns– (thank you “Real Life: Fat Camp” and “Tila Tequila”, and forget “America’s Next Top Model”).

    I’d love to see them do a follow up edition then based soley upon VIRTUAL WORLD & user experiences (double lives through avatar). Kids are being funneled into these social/casual gaming environments, I bet there’s more to talk about– and it opens up a new possibility for refreshing the “safety smart thinking” for youth.

    Thanks for the heads up, John.

  3. Jennifer Puckett
    December 10, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    John,

    Any chance someone could post a place where I could get my hands on this episode? I second Izzy’s thoughts that this is where we, in the industry, could use a second hand. TALKING to the source, and getting their perspective of the dangers and excitements surrounding this “new” virtual world.

    As usual Izzy, great perspective when it comes to the realities behind kids and the ‘net!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

