Home > Cartoon Network, entertainment, kid pop culture, pop culture, TV, Youth > Cartoon Network Fights back at Underwear

Cartoon Network Fights back at Underwear

TV fans accept certain facts without question like the folks on CSI don’t seem to know where the light switches are at a crime scene, and there are a fine group of Hanna-Barbera characters that regularly don ties, hats, cuffs, and the occasional vest … but never slacks. To honor the no-pants tradition, Boomerang goes commando with a 24-hour marathon of its No Undies Mondays, on Monday, November 12, from 6a. Cartoon fans can expect to see some of the most popular pant-less characters including Yogi Bear, Huckleberry Hound, Augie Doggie and Quick Draw McGraw, Grape Ape and, a personal favorite, Squiddly Diddly.

Cynthia Turner’s Cynopsis – Cyn Kids 11/9/07

LOL!  I love how witty Cartoon Network’s writers are (subsequently Boomerang folks, do to family network ties). 

I never seem to catch Thundercats anymore.  I LOVED Thundercats.  They didn’t really wear pants either– leggings?  yes.  Pants?  Meh.

And I loved Quick Draw McGraw!  Way to keep things goofy, Boomerang!  Love it!

Blogged with Flock

  1. November 10, 2007 at 6:21 am

    You’re too young for Quick Draw McGraw, aren’t ‘cha? Next thing you’re gonna be telling me you liked Huckelberry Hound or Top Cat… “exit stage right”—Oh, wait, that was Snaggelpuss, wasn’t it. LOL.

    Left a reply for you back on the Shaping Youth blog but am so far behind I haven’t caught up w/my Google reader…looks like you’re busier than ever…Am about to write about Dizzywood, a new virtual world for tweens that launched yesterday. Met Kirsten at Virtual Worlds Conf…haven’t visited the site much yet, but we’re both meeting next week w/Debbie & Jason at Adina’s Deck to see how the virtual world space might be a good fit for all of us in the do-gooder circuit of value instilling/meaningful content (e.g. an eco msg., etc.)

    So there’s your hat tip for the day, go get ’em Tiger…maybe YOU can check it out and review it and I can content swap with you, or post your review/take on same as an Izzy guest editorial? I just don’t have enough bandwidth this week w/the nasty eco-spill in the bay and the wildlife volunteering and such. As my daughter fumed, “idiots. How do you freakin’ hit a tower in the middle of the bay?” (spoken like a youth thoroughly disgusted w/adults in charge of the planet…must say, I agree as of late) More soon…going to the greenfestival.org event tmrw., might perk my spirits.

    Lemme know when you’re in town, eh? Would love to hear what you’re up to. Can’t wait to catch up w/your blog posts…ttys.

  2. November 12, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Amy, you’re amazing! Hopefully I’ll be up in your neck of the woods after the holiday season. From the next few weekends I’m going to be practically employed by American Airlines with the amount I’ll be flying (personal insanity, naturally). I’ll be at the MacArthur Foundation shindig here in LA on Wednesday. Let’s have a phone chat soon, yeah? I can give you the dirt on tween mashup and this MacArthur Virtual World/gaming session, and you can share with me all the lovelies you learned at the last conference.

    And i LOVED Top Cat! I also loved Heath Cliff and –crud– mind fart. The Junkyard Gang? Like Top Cat but there were 4 cats and one had roller skates and a walkman… Oh crud. They’re the only kind of cats I adore– animated ones. LoL! Allergies make the fear grow deep.

    Sorry to hear about the wildlife fear. I’m always so pumped about the enormity of kids love for nature, environment, etc. They’re SO open to doing everything they can… and then somewhere around 15/16 years of age they get a face first SPLAT into “me me me me”… That’s why when I watch “Kid Nation” (predictable, nuts, but that Jared kid is brilliant) I’m not always surprised when they pick the world-conscious elements. Kids have a strong moral core (which somewhere around high school puberty time gets muddled) because they live in a time where structure and right/wrong mean so much. They need certain truths to cling to in order to make sense of things… and then they blast that truth out with a slime-filled water gun.

    Gotta have a box before you can break out of it.

    Anyway, that’s my ramble for today. LOL!

  3. Susan
    November 22, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    hmmmm….’no-undies Mondays’ would be a hit in the ‘real world’ too…didn’t have time to get to the laundry this weekend, so let’s declare this a ‘no undy Monday’

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

