JK Rowling Continues Her Fairy Reign

Rowling Completes Book of Fairy Tales

LONDON (AP) — J.K. Rowling has completed her first book after her wildly popular series on teen wizard Harry Potter – an illustrated collection of magical fairy stories titled “The Tales of Beedle the Bard.”

Only seven copies of the handwritten book have been made, Rowling said Thursday. One will be auctioned next month to raise money for a children’s charity, while the others have been given away as gifts.

Rowling drew the illustrations herself and provided the handwriting for the five stories that make up the collection of fairy tales.

“The Tales of Beedle the Bard” is mentioned in the final Potter book, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows,” as a gift left by headmaster Albus Dumbledore to Harry’s friend Hermione, and provides clues that help destroy evil Lord Voldemort.

“‘The Tales of Beedle the Bard’ is really a distillation of the themes found in the Harry Potter books, and writing it has been the most wonderful way to say goodbye to a world I have loved and lived in for 17 years,” Rowling said in a statement.

The volume, bound in brown morocco leather and mounted with silver and semiprecious stones, will be auctioned at Sotheby’s on Dec. 13 with a starting price of $62,000. Proceeds will go to The Children’s Voice, a charity that helps vulnerable children across Europe.

(Click link to read more…)

http://news.wired.com/dynamic/stories/P/PEOPLE_ROWLING?SITE=WIRE&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT

This is awesome!  I look forward to Rowling’s Tales with glee!!!!

Why does this make more happier than just my Rowling-dedicated-glee?  Because I was chatting with a teacher from on mine (Whoop! Nicky!) who was telling me her 2nd grade class couldn’t tell the difference between fairy tales and television.  “What’s a Fairy Tale?” she would ask. “Can someone tell me the name of a fairy tale?”

“Hannah Montana!”
“Shrek!”
“Fairly Odd Parents!”
“Scooby Doo!”

Wha-what?!  I LOVED the classic fairytales.  You have no idea how morbidly fascinated (and frightened) I was as a child of Sleeping Beauty and The Little Mermaid.   Fairlytales are now owned lock, stock, and barrel by two entities: Disney and Barbie.  BAHHHH!  Then there are the folks who play with the ideas of fairytales– like Dreamworks and Cartoon Knockoff episodes.

Sure Rowling will smear her Rowlingness Writing Styles all over the fairytales… but good on her!  Fairytales are of folklore.  Oral Tradition.  Stories pass from one to another, changing and adapting.  So, yes, poo on me for calling out Disney & Barbie.  But we need more people writing the tales as classics and less about branding opportunities.  Rowling may be a brand herself these days– but at least it won’t be “Harry Potter in the Three Little Pigzards” (< pigs + wizard, yes I’m lame).  😉

  1. November 4, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    I love Harry Potter. I have seen the movies about a billion times, and have read the series like, 8 times. My least favorite book was the 7th, because so many of my favorite characters died. Too much sadness if you ask me. I wish I could get that book for my birthday, but I dont think my parents will be happy about buying me a 62,000 gift. Do you know when the real release date is?
    -DG

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

