Home > accountability, entertainment, marketing, pop culture > Henry "The Cool Genius” Jenkin’s “Transmedia Storytelling 101”

Henry "The Cool Genius” Jenkin’s “Transmedia Storytelling 101”

I designed this handout on transmedia storytelling to distribute to my students. More recently, I passed it out at a teaching workshop at the Society for Cinema and Media Studies. I thought it might be of value to more of you out there in the community. Much of it builds on the discussion of that concept in Convergence Culture, though I have updated it to reflect some more recent developments in that space…

Confessions of an Aca/Fan: The Official Weblog of Henry Jenkins: Transmedia Storytelling 101

I didn’t actually post his 1-10 tips simply because it’s worth a visit to his site to read as a whole.

This is Star Farm Productions’ goal for its entertainment properties (which makes my job very exciting).  ABC/Disney’s LOST did a cool/interesting job last summer with their “The Lost Experience” online– expanding the world & storylines far beyond anything they could ever successfully do on television (and without using ONE main character from the show).  It blurred the line between reality & fiction, television & gaming, etc.  If I think about it… sometime I’ll post my extensive notes regarding the “experience”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

