Nickelodeon’s Linda Ellerbee rocks!!

Nickelodeon will investigate autism in Nick News with Linda Ellerbee Private Worlds: Kids and Autism, which will air Sunday, April 22 at 8:30p. The episode will explore what it means to be autistic and the varying ways it can affect someone, as well as the different levels of severity, through the stories of real kids living with autism and their families.

Cynthia Turner’s Cynopsis – Cyn Kid 3/30/07

This really isn’t big news or anything new in the online community world– but I like the way Nickelodeon approaches subject matter worthy of attention.

I know, I know– I’ve always been that crazy lady who thinks we should voluntarily shield tough subject matter from kids until they ask about it. But, all in all, kids deserve to know the truth too…

Linda Ellerbee does a great job of being straight forward, understanding, and sincerely interested in the opinions of kids. Very cool. I’d love to see news go a little further for kids– like the BBC’s “Blue Peter/Newsround” with daily shows pertaining to information that kids find interesting as well as currant events and world opinions (stop US kids from being so self-centered and give them a view of kids around the world on a daily basis). Blend ME:TV with “Blue Peter’s Newsround” and put everyone’s favorite cartoons in the mix, and you’ve got a class act. (Just be mindful of the hosts– I don’t think I want to get into again, see rants: one, two, three, four).

One of my campers (Kimmy) was on the Linda Ellerbee special about weight, weight loss, being over-weight, and body image with Bill Clinton. She ROCKED! I was so proud of her. She had nothing but great things to say about Linda Ellerbee, and the program got great reviews all around.

Now… what I’D like to see is a Linda Ellerbee special about conquering ADD (Attention-deficit Disorder). Not just ADHD (Attention-deficit/hyperactive disorder)— but concentration & frustration of kids trying to achieve in school (without the hyper connotations). I was an ADD kid and I still sport some ADD tenancies, but I know how to work my rear off thanks to the guidance & support I got– not to mention, figuring out how to conquer ADD my own way. There is a way for kids to “own” their ADD, and in the end it is very empowering. After all, “nothing easily gained is worth having” and that includes success.

  1. JASMINE
    December 27, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    I don’t know because barbiegirls use to be fun but when you register you have to have a parents email address in when you want to talk this stupid thing pop up in the girls who have barbiegirls look better than everybody else and u can’t buy cool things like the girls who have a barbiegirl. I think the person who created barbiegirls should let all the girls do everything thats on barbiegirls.com because it’s not fair to all the other girls. In the reason not that much people on barbiegirs is because we can’t do anything fun I hope when the person who created barbiegirls see this they will change something about barbiegirl and make it funner And I will pick be bratz if barbiegirls was more funner i would pick it next time when she change something or unlock club beaty or something pleaze and thank you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

