Home > entertainment, kid empowerment, online community, social networking > Hey, Mixi: "No man is a failure who has friends.”

Hey, Mixi: "No man is a failure who has friends.”

-quote from It’s A Wonderful Life

Mixi knows how to thrive off the nation’s cliquish culture so different from the aggressive me-orientation prevalent in American culture. 

“MySpace is about me, me, me, and look at me and look at me and look at me,” said Tony Elison, senior vice president at Viacom International Japan, which is offering its own Japanese-language social networking service here.

“In Mixi, it’s not all about me. It’s all about us.”

Mixi President Kenji Kasahara, 31, and others say the services merely reflect the cultural differences.  While self-assertion is quick and direct on MySpace, with posted profiles upfront about personal views, Japanese tend to be more reserved and prefer to gradually get to know each other.

The messages on Mixi are surprisingly positive: You look great. It’s so nice seeing you. I feel the same way. Kasahara calls it a “friendly mood that values harmony.””I feel people speak their minds on MySpace,” he said. “Japanese tend to like peaceful communication. We’re often told how heartwarming Mixi is.”

MySpace faces stiff competition in Japan – USATODAY.com

Wow. Cool. I would love to see myspace & america’s youth move this way.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

